Give it to me NOW!


So, as I sat watching a commercial today, I was struck by the profound message the Hidden Valley Ranch commercial had.  Not just to make Hidden Valley Ranch topping for potatoes, but the underlying message.  Apparently the mother in the commercial, her son would only eat potatoes.  So to vary it up, the mother decided to put ranch and bacon on it to liven things up.

Now, that just sickens me.  Kids who dictate the dinner table are the kind of kids that will dictate our future.  The lack of rounded individuals abounds.  Ever present are the kind of kids and adults who have whined until they ate nothing but (potatoes, mac and cheese, pizza, chicken nuggets etc.) for dinner.  We are breeding a generation of people who base their decisions in life on lower level needs–decisions based on pleasure or approval.  Higher level decision making happens less and less, the focus on making decisions considering others and community have fallen by the wayside.

Because of this decision making style and bribery that is the  modus operandi for so many American homes, I believe that the egregious bribery that is running rampant in our United States Senate, the purchase of Ben Nelson’s vote for example, is not viewed as disgusting and unethical as it is.  The “What’s in it for me” or “The I’ll do for you if you do for me” is viewed as normal and an effective way to making decisions for dinner as it is for buying votes in the Senate.  How can this even be constitutional?

Americans need to stand up and shout, take a hard look at themselves and how they expect the world around them to be and REFUSE to accept this way of thinking in our homes and Senate!

I say no to making mac and cheese every night at dinner because my kids won’t eat anything else.  This just begets further problems.  My children will be the first to exclaim they want a steamed artichoke or brussel sprouts.  They eat things ranging from spicy Thai to a savory curry from India!  This would not be possible if I had given them mac and cheese or chicken nuggets every day.  Each day I expected them to try new things have an open mind and go out of their comfort zone.

It worked.

These and many more reasons are why I am very proud of my kids.  They are respectful more than other kids I see.   When they are not, it’s for things that are quite normal for kids and NOT the kind of lip you hear so many teens these days.  I am raising some fabulous conservative kids, with a healthy dose of care for others in society.

The American people need to look deeply at what is going on the United States Senate and put a stop to this unethical, disgusting behavior.  Bribery and force feeding–if you must do this, can it possibly be the right thing to do?  Take a minute and think.  Hold a tea party, write your Senators and call for serious repercussions for this foul behavior.  It is NOT acceptable and will not be tolerated!

Until next time!

Y

P.S.  I would love to get more comments!  Feel free to comment, is always great to hear from you!

2 responses to “Give it to me NOW!

  1. You are a fabulous cook, Marcy. Some women don’t have that skill; but, there are many ways to provide a meal that is nutritional and also appealing.

    My mother was also a fabulous cook; but there was a rule at our home. The RULE: Do not complain about anything put on our plates. Either eat it or go hungry. WE ATE!

    I’ll never forget the morning breakfast, where a friend had slept over; and my mother’s toast was a little DARK! The kid said, “I can’t eat my toast, because it is burnt!” (My brother and sisters looked at each other, like “UH OH”!) My mother took the friend’s toast and used a table knife to scrape off the burnt part. She laid it down and said, “There! It is just right now. Eat everything on your plates, before you leave the table.” AND, that’s the way it was in 1955!

  2. Thank you! I know that my culinary skills are just one reason my kids eat more than mac and cheese. It’s more the attitude at how to deal with what is presented at your table. Regardless if it is a Thai curry or Pot Roast. The point I was making was the pandering, not the meal itself.
    Love you!

    Marcy

Leave a Reply

